When a dream becomes a reality

  
This will be quick and short as I know my time with only one awake babe is limited! But I just have to take this moment to express the truest, deepest feeling of joy and gratitude. A dream has come true in our house! One I’ve hoped and prayed for, but also one I’ve felt (at times) may never come. This morning, as I stand in the kitchen making oatmeal for breakfast (one of the kids favorite breakfasts!) I heard the thump thump of a bottom scooting down the stairs followed by the pitter patter of tiny foot steps coming down the hall. I knew who it was, but the sweet tiny “mama?” That followed confirmed it, Colbey Raye was awake! She woke up, got herself out of her bed (a mattress on the floor) opened her own bedroom door, scooted herself down the steps and when she got to the bottom of the stairs she stood and WALKED into the kitchen! My baby walks! She walks. Sometimes I say it over and over again because it’s just to wonderful to almost believe, I may have pinched myself once or twice to make sure this wasn’t a dream. But it is real, it is here, the moment I’ve prayed for, a turning point for Colbey Raye, she walks. And she does not walk occasionally, or a little here and there, she WALKS all day long every day for the past week.

I cannot begin to thank all of her therapists enough for the time they spend with her, loving her, helping her, encouraging me! And pushing through those tough, hard days that come with a special needs child. They are amazing, and they are a blessing to my life and Colbey Rayes I never imagined! By her will, my prayer and their efforts this little miracle walks! Thank you Annie, Brenda and Nancy for all you do and have done!

Leave a Reply

