Summer, progress, life

Summer is just full to the brim and time is seldom found, I still am in aww that today is the 22nd of July! What have I been doing to pass the time so quickly?! When you jam as much excitement into each day as possible, I guess that’s what happens, days slip away and before you know it summers almost gone. The past few weeks have been a fun busy blur, yet I remember the most important/fun events.
Austyn Jayne is now 3! She had her third birthday a week and a half ago and it was a huge success! She had the best day of her life and her smile went ear to ear the entire day! We celebrated a few days early to accommodate the busy schedules of family, and it was perfect. She knew the day was all about her and she was sweet, happy, kind and loving towards everyone. It came as a huge eye opener to me, I need to make things just about Austyn Jayne more often and have special stuff revolved around her. She’s still miss Sassy, and her little attitude is just hilarious (as her parent I probably shouldn’t laugh though) and so far, even though it’s only been 10 days, I have to say age 3 is better than 2!

20140722-072407-26647178.jpg

Colbey Raye is now a big 15month old! Austyn Jayne says all the time “Colbey Raye can’t do that yet, but she’s getting bigger girl, I teach her how.” These two are the best of friends and Austyn Jayne is so nice to Colbey Raye it is adorable. She never gets upset (unless Rayzee pulls her hair) and she’s always the first to offer to help Colbey Raye. Colbey Raye brings out the best side of Austyn Jayne, the sweet, caring, overly loving side that Austyn Jayne only shows to extra special people πŸ˜‹. Now back to our little 15 month old! She’s growing up so fast and is learning new tricks all the time still! Her progress in OT, PT and speech have amazed her therapists so much! She’s now only doing each type of therapy once a week. Her OT has been so thrilled with her progress she only needs to see her once week now. Colbey Raye has the best group of therapists, and they sure know how to make a mom feel adequate for the job! With the busyness of life, the fatigue of caring for two small children and the fact that in just 15 weeks we will be welcoming our third, this momma is tired and some times does not feel like she’s meeting all the needs of her family. The encouragement from Colbey Rayes therapists is amazing. I know I’ve been slacking in my home therapy with Colbey Raye, but they seem to think I do an over abundant amount of work with her and go as far as saying “superb” “exceptional” and mentioning I should become an OT or PT myself. It’s uplifting to hear, but I just do what I can to help my baby girl be the best she can be! She’s stubborn and tough and I know she’s up for the challenge so I challenge her daily.
Colbey Raye is starting to understand and comprehend so much more since her surgery! She will be 9 weeks post op on Thursday and if you didn’t know her, you could hardly tell! Yes she is lacking in areas, and her mannerisms and cognitive level is more of a 10-11 month old, she’s blossoming and no one looks at her as if she’s “slow” or “different.” She’s finally saying “mama”!! Still will not say it on demand and much prefers to day “dada” but when she’s mad and feeling ignored or tired out comes the yell for “mama!” She knows who we are taking about when we say “sister” and Colbey Raye will look all around for Austyn Jayne until she spots her, and always give a huge smile when she does. Colbey Raye has begun to pretend to be shy around strangers, even though she will reach out to the closest stranger in the store wanting to be held by them. Her stranger danger instincts are at a large 0! But it makes for easy pleasant doctor visits 😊. She will still let ANYONE hold her, but she’s started to always want me close by or holding her if she can see me. Her sassy attitude is slowly making it’s way out, and her form of communicating what she wants is a very “pleasant” yell. We are working with her on signs and language to help her get her needs met but she’s satisfied with the screech so for now we answer to it. She will be sitting on the floor squawking at me to pick her up and once I do she begins to give me multiple open mouth kisses as a thank you. How can one be upset by the squawk when she thanks you in the most adorable way?! Her sassy little yells and demands are usually only directed to me. If she’s in a little fit and someone else walks by, she instantly stops yelling, begins smiling and waving at the new face. Helping me realize that she has mastered the art of faking her distress in order to get what she wants. She’s learning wonderful new tricks 😊. I feel like I could go on and on about this adorable sweet thing, where do I stop?!
Now that summer is half way gone, my babies are getting so big, including the one in my belly, I’m feeling behind and overwhelmed a little with the demands of our busy life. It’s time to make a few adjustments for the family, some easy some hard, but all we feel are for the best! I’ve come to see how much Austyn Jayne needs my time and attention, and with Colbey Raye’s busy schedule it’s been hard, but also having her seizure free for the past 7 weeks has helped me be able to relax a little more and take some eyes off of Colbey Raye and place them on Austyn Jayne. Life is full, life is busy, but life is wonderful!

20140722-082654-30414304.jpg

20140722-082655-30415442.jpg

Leave a Reply

