A typical day in the Smith house and pub run results

I’ve been thinking a lot about how a typical day goes around our little house these days. With summer here and the hustle and bustle of fun I’ve heard hear, there and everywhere about how BUSY everyone’s lives are. How much can one pack in a day? For us, our days are pretty typical, at least our Monday-Friday is pretty typical.
Colbey Raye is my alarm, she’s generally up between 6-6:30am, and we begin our morning! Josh gets up around 6:30, I get up, take a shower and Josh gets Colbey Raye all settled in downstairs until I come down so he can be off to work by 7:00. Colbey Raye gets her morning bottle, I begin prepping breakfast, or starting a load of laundry, or picking up what I didn’t get to the night before. At 7:30am we welcome our first little daycare boy into the mix, and breakfast is being served by 7:45! Colbey Raye and her little friend eat up and Austyn Jayne slowly makes her way into the mix between 7:30-9, whenever she decided to wake up 😋. Around 8am, Colbey Raye gets her medication/yogurt cocktail, she’s been fighting this so it can take almost a half hour before she’s finished with the mixture. In the mean time, my assistant comes around 8am as well as the other little daycare girl, Austyn Jayne gets her breakfast and then I proceed to clean up the breakfast kitchen mess! Next it’s time to get my kiddos dressed while we have morning play time. After clothes are on it’s time to make a bottle and put Colbey Raye down for her morning nap, it’s now about 9:30am. From 9:30 until 10:30 the kids play, or we do crafts and read books, and on really nice mornings we take an outside adventure! Colbey Raye is up about 10:30 for a small little snack and then her and I are off to our (3xs a week) therapy session by 11:00! On Tuesdays we have to leave the house a little earlier as her PT starts at 10:30, instead of 11:15 like all the other days! 11:15-12pm we participate in OT, PT or speech, which ever takes place that day and head home for lunch! While we were out at therapy the other ones back home clean up, have lunch and are prepping for nap time when Colbey and I get back. We eat our lunch and between 1-1:30pm Colbey Raye is headed back down for her nap. On some days Austyn Jayne will go down for a nap too, but she’s beginning to grow out of her naps, sigh… Oh well, it gives her and I some special time together! All the kids are up around 2:30-3pm and we have a snack and then head to the door for some fun in the sun! At 4 we slowly make our way back inside for a little down time before daycare closes at 4:30pm. We play quietly with toys, read some stories or occasionally watch a short show. After all the kids, that attend daycare, are headed to their own homes for the night and we go back outside to water the garden and check the mail! Josh gets home between 5-6, and I begin making dinner. My girls are both very grumpy hungry kids and if dinner isn’t ready around 6:30pm they can get a bit sassy and grumpy with me 😋. Colbey Raye has started letting me know she NEEDS FOOD NOW! by throwing little whiny grunty fits until dinner is served, and Austyn Jayne will just “help” me cook so she can snack on whatever veggie I’m chopping up to go with dinner. After dinner Josh does the dishes, with the very helpful help of Austyn Jayne! And I clean up, and put away all the food while Colbey Raye plays on the floor. Next we do a number of things, depending on the night. It’s either bath time, snuggles with daddy on the couch while I do laundry, play time with toys or whatever else needs/wants to be done before bed time! I do our therapy homework with Colbey Raye until she’s to tired to continue and at about 8pm Colbey Raye gets her second medication cocktail. This mixture also takes about a half hour to get her to eat so by the time she’s done it is time for pjs and up to brush teeth and snuggle up into bed, for the kiddos! Two nights a week I head back down stairs to help assist my disabled sister with a shower, and Josh generally waits up for me. The other nights we are cleaning up, getting the house ready to start our next day! The weekends are quit a bit different and spastic and who knows what we will be doing! But our typical days goes like that, with all the normal tantrums, smiles, learning, fun, tiredness, and love thrown in all around! It’s a fun busy life, full of surprises, joys and our share of trials 😊. This is a “typical” day. It sounds packed, scheduled and smooth, but there is so much more “life” that happens in between those “scheduled” events, our days are full, full of love, fun, therapy and children!
There are days we throw in trips to Seattle Children’s for follow ups or to pick up medications, days where we throw in prenatal appoints or wellness checks, nightly grocery shopping, meetings Josh and I have to attend, or nights Josh has to work until 7pm or later! By bed time , for Josh and I, we are both pretty tired and ready for a good nights sleep! But between Colbey Rayes nightly wake ups (due to her arm falling asleep) and the constant urge to use the restroom, this momma is up a few times a night helping either myself or miss Raye return to a comfortable pain free sleeping position. And through the busy, the hustle and bustle of life I cannot help but feel extremely blessed! We have a beautiful home, a wonderful family, and a fun exciting life. Colbey Raye gets to attend therapy often and has improved immensely in all areas! We get to see amazing doctors only an hour and a half from our home, and I get to spend every moment of everyday with my children! My children to get learn and play with friends, they get social interaction daily, and learn life lessons along with scholastic lessons. Embracing life one day at a time, because it is a lovely one!

I have to take a moment to mention the fundraiser that took place for Colbey Raye on the 3rd! We’ve been so busy having fun with the holiday weekend that I am just now getting the time to make a post. For all those who know and don’t know, there was a pub run fundraiser held in honor of Colbey Raye. There were raffles, donations, a BBQ and a little running and drinking involved 😋(none of either for me though of course!).The P3 running group held the event, thank you so much for coordinating it all! A huge thank you to all who donated the raffle prizes, and an especially big thank you to my Aunt Suzi who asked that this event be held in honor of Colbey Raye. The event raised over $3000 to help us help Colbey Raye, and it broke the record for most money raised by the P3 running group. Amazing! This little girl is one blessed and loved sweet thing 😊. Thank you for helping us make Colbey Raye’s road to recovery even stronger! I do not know how to express our thanks and gratitude enough! We are feeling so blessed.

20140707-220035-79235843.jpg

Leave a Reply

