Happy 10 months

10 months ago we brought into this world the most precious little girl I’d ever seen. A head full of dark hair, a sweet turned up nose, big squishy cheeks and pretty little eyes, she was beyond perfect! No one can prepare you for the love you will feel once becoming a mother. It is the strongest, most selfless, painfully amazing kind of love I’ve ever felt. I instantly loved that little bundle so much it hurt, and I knew right away she was my cub and mommy bear was going to protect her forever. Little did I know this protective instinct would be set into full force action only weeks later.
10 months can sound like a long time but it sure can fly by so quickly! now looking back on all that we have battled through I am more and more amazed by my daughter! In her first 10 months of life she has spent over 2 months in the hospital, experienced 3+ different types of seizures, has had an uncountable number of seizures, been on 4 different types of anti-epileptic medications, underwent a craniotomy, received over 50 stitches, and the list goes on and on. In spite of all these road blocks Colbey Raye has still managed to slowly meet mile stones, made huge progress and is the happiest, friendliest, lovable baby I have ever met. I can honestly say I’m not being biased, our 2 your old is lovely and we adore her! But she’s definitely not characterized as sweet and friendly, she is more of a tease and a spunky independent bossy Little Lady 😊, but still just as perfect and loved as her sister!
In just a short 10 months I’ve learned so much about being a parent, the sacrifices one makes for the well being of a child, and the difficulty of being faced with making decisions that will affect the rest of the child’s life. It is difficult having a special needs child, it can be stressful, exhausting and emotional but it’s my normal, and it’s a normal I have grown to love. I do have fears, I have doubts, but most of all I have hope, hope for a bright future with greatness in store for Colbey Raye. When I look at Colbey I see joy, love, peace, and an innocent child depending on me to help her become all that she can be. We do not know what the next 10 days, 10 months, 10 years, will hold for Colbey Raye, but I do know there will be precious blessed moments to cherish and love. We have learned to take each day one by one, soaking up all the blessed moments, cherishing all the peaceful times and living in the present.
Just in the last month Colbey Raye has learned to feed herself finger food, transition from her belly up to a sitting position, she’s finally realized i am mom! She claps and leads screaming matches, imitates tongue clicking, gets on hands and knees and rocks (no crawling yet). Loves sitting with sister and is much more interested in toys, she now sleeps all night long and in her own room! It’s been an amazing month full of great progress. She has continued to stay seizure free even through a cold and spiking a fever. This is the first week we have not had to make a trip to Seattle since surgery, and it feels nice! Prayers that this wonderful progress continues, and seizures stay at bay.

One thought on “Happy 10 months

  1. Susan Peterson

    You are amazing parents, and a wonderful family. God certainly choose you for those qualities and your strength. I continue to pray for all of you and am thrilled to know that Colbey’s seizures have been kept at bay for so long. May God bless all of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

