Being home day 3

We’ve been home from the hospital 3 days now and Colbey Raye’s seizures have escalated again. She has already had 8 seizures this morning and she is continuing to turn color in the face, I rub her chest hoping it will help her take a breath. I spoke to her neurologist Dr. Ko on the phone earlier this morning and we decided to give her a bolus of the phenobarbital to help calm the seizures. It will still be a day of two before the trileptal (oxcarbazepine) will peak in its effectiveness and we are trying to wait and see if it will bring the seizure count down before making any new changes. She is having a lot of trouble sleeping again, she cat naps often but is having trouble falling asleep and transitioning then into a deeper sleep.
Other happenings around the house, Josh’s car is currently “out of commission” and we haven’t decided when we will be getting her fixed. It’s a long story and I won’t go into detail but there wasn’t a car accident and no one was hurt! Austyn Jayne has had a harder time adjusting this time around, she’s been acting up a little and throwing some tantrums. Every morning she asked where her daddy is, if Colbey Raye is home and if I am leaving to take Colbey Raye to the doctor. She is so happy when I tell her Colbey Raye and I are not leaving :).
Now it’s time to give a little thanks! I am so thankful for all the constant prayers my family is receiving. We are so blessed to have so many prayer warriors out there and so many willing to help out. I am thankful that we still have one vehicle right now to get us where ever we need to be! For the freezer meals our cousin put together for us, they will be so helpful when we are either in the hospital or after a hard day like today and cooking is the last thing on my mind! I’m am thankful for my sweet Austyn Jayne :). She is such a great big sister and so understanding when I need to spend some extra time paying attention to Colbey Raye. This morning after one of Colbey’s seizures Austyn Jayne rubbed Colbey’s belly saying “it’s okay, seizure over, you breathing better now.” Moments like that make my heart smile! I’m thankful for all the hard long days my husband puts in at work. It’s a busy time for the heating industry and we are blessed by his work.
Sometimes it is hard to find the silver lining in each day. It is November now, and a month geared around giving thanks. A week like this week can truly cast a shadow over giving thanks, but there is always something to be thankful for.
One thing I am not thankful for is Halloween candy! I’ve decided that Halloween is a terrible Holliday, not for my kids but for me!! I’ve been living on coffee and Austyn Jayne’s chocolate since Home from the hospital.. I cannot wait for this candy to be gone! Sad thing is, I’ll be the one eating it until it disappears.

4 thoughts on “Being home day 3

  1. Grace Lemon

    We love you guys. If the car is fixable chad would love to do it. He is great with cars. Let me know and he could do it this saturday. We will pray for some relief and this medication starts to work like you are hoping.

    Reply
    1. britsos Post author

      Thank you Grace! My dad is ordering the parts we need. I’m not sure what all needs to be done but I will talk to Josh and my dad and see what they are thinking. Thank you so much for the offer! I’ll let you know :).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

